Jump to content


Photo

Windows Linux Unix MacOS


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

Poll: Which OS ? (3 member(s) have cast votes)

Which Operating System do you use and WHY ?

  1. Windows Operating System (Any Version) (2 votes [66.67%])

    Percentage of vote: 66.67%

  2. Linux (Any Distro Version) (1 votes [33.33%])

    Percentage of vote: 33.33%

  3. Unix (Any version) (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  4. Mac Os (Version 9 and earlier) (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  5. Mac OSX (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  6. Other (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 ubercanuck

ubercanuck

    Unique Forum Dieity

  • UH Contributors
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 236 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 Mar 2006 - 11:18

Which Operating system do you use and why. Just wondering

Personally i use windows for the compatability and gaming. My websers runs linux and my domain server runs windows 2000 Advanced server.

Edited by ubercanuck, 25 Mar 2006 - 11:19.

Opteron 165 @ 2.4 GHZ
Asus A8N32-SLI
ATI X1900XT
Antec Neo HE 500
2GB OCZ XTC PC3500
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA II x4

#2 Dalponis

Dalponis

    Hardware Master

  • [UH]Unique Staff
  • 850 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Drayton Valley AB

Posted 25 Mar 2006 - 16:20

Personally, I use Linux for the compatibility and ability to play games. Seriously, get Tux Racer to play on a Win32 computer...

My server also runs Linux.

av-1_sig.png
No Kitty Kibble Shortage, Officials Insist; Kitties Sceptical


#3 ubercanuck

ubercanuck

    Unique Forum Dieity

  • UH Contributors
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 236 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 Mar 2006 - 16:28

ok then point me in a direction that will let me use the DDL feature in linux and run fear as well as they run in windows and i will switch.
Opteron 165 @ 2.4 GHZ
Asus A8N32-SLI
ATI X1900XT
Antec Neo HE 500
2GB OCZ XTC PC3500
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA II x4

#4 Dalponis

Dalponis

    Hardware Master

  • [UH]Unique Staff
  • 850 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Drayton Valley AB

Posted 26 Mar 2006 - 09:26

http://www.transgaming.com/

Windows doesn't have compatibility. Everything is just made for Windows. Sure, most Windows 3.1/95/98/98SE/ME/2000 programs will run under Windows XP (and screw it up most of the time), but nearly all old software can be ran in Linux with WINE.

Linux, on the other hand, is able to do loads of everything Windows can with its own free software, and it can run applications and games. So you can't possibiliy say Windows is more compatible.

True, fear is not on Transgamings game database list. Put in a suggestion to get that game working.

av-1_sig.png
No Kitty Kibble Shortage, Officials Insist; Kitties Sceptical


#5 ubercanuck

ubercanuck

    Unique Forum Dieity

  • UH Contributors
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 236 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 26 Mar 2006 - 12:05

ahh, but you didn't answer the question about ddl man, thats more important to me than any video game.
Opteron 165 @ 2.4 GHZ
Asus A8N32-SLI
ATI X1900XT
Antec Neo HE 500
2GB OCZ XTC PC3500
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA II x4

#6 Dalponis

Dalponis

    Hardware Master

  • [UH]Unique Staff
  • 850 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Drayton Valley AB

Posted 26 Mar 2006 - 12:08

Dock Design & Layout?

av-1_sig.png
No Kitty Kibble Shortage, Officials Insist; Kitties Sceptical


#7 ubercanuck

ubercanuck

    Unique Forum Dieity

  • UH Contributors
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 236 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 26 Mar 2006 - 18:23

Dolby Digital Live. Basically it's a feture that seems to be controlled by the drivers that tyells my soundcard to encode anything but dvd's (since they are already in 5.1) to a dolby digital 5.1 signal so it can be processed by my receiver. I have installed linux with this card before and the most i am able to get is 2 channel audio. (oh it has to be through the fiber optic)
Opteron 165 @ 2.4 GHZ
Asus A8N32-SLI
ATI X1900XT
Antec Neo HE 500
2GB OCZ XTC PC3500
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA II x4

#8 stephen_0002

stephen_0002

    Member-in-training

  • Newbies
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Location:Barrie, Ont

Posted 24 Apr 2006 - 12:37

well hate to be a black sheep ... but i use good ol' Windows XP and semi good Windows Vista (builds differ as they come out!)

#9 ubercanuck

ubercanuck

    Unique Forum Dieity

  • UH Contributors
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 236 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 Apr 2006 - 13:20

what black sheep, i use windows xp :D
Opteron 165 @ 2.4 GHZ
Asus A8N32-SLI
ATI X1900XT
Antec Neo HE 500
2GB OCZ XTC PC3500
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA II x4

#10 ameyalli

ameyalli

    Unique Forum Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 75 posts

Posted 25 Apr 2006 - 07:33

where did u get vista?

#11 ubercanuck

ubercanuck

    Unique Forum Dieity

  • UH Contributors
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 236 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 Apr 2006 - 09:16

probably bit-torrent
Opteron 165 @ 2.4 GHZ
Asus A8N32-SLI
ATI X1900XT
Antec Neo HE 500
2GB OCZ XTC PC3500
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA II x4

#12 stephen_0002

stephen_0002

    Member-in-training

  • Newbies
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Location:Barrie, Ont

Posted 26 Apr 2006 - 13:31

sadly yes... it is bit-torrent.... but everything else i have like Office 2007 beta, windows live messenger, mail.. etc.. is all from ms connect .. completely legit!

Edited by stephen_0002, 26 Apr 2006 - 13:31.


#13 ubercanuck

ubercanuck

    Unique Forum Dieity

  • UH Contributors
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 236 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 26 Apr 2006 - 14:10

i think i'll wait to try vista when the public beta comes out :D
Opteron 165 @ 2.4 GHZ
Asus A8N32-SLI
ATI X1900XT
Antec Neo HE 500
2GB OCZ XTC PC3500
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA II x4

#14 stephen_0002

stephen_0002

    Member-in-training

  • Newbies
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Location:Barrie, Ont

Posted 26 Apr 2006 - 16:16

yeah ... i didn't bother getting the new build... since Beta2 comes out next month! ... whats going to start happening is, as we get closer to final product, newer builds will have less new content, less tweaks, etc ... i'm staying with beta2 (once it's released, then waiting for RC1.RC2 and then final)

#15 ameyalli

ameyalli

    Unique Forum Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 75 posts

Posted 04 Jun 2006 - 01:09

hahaha ok ok so i can just download the vista from msn> can someone please link me up hehehehe




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users